Manatee County Students Compete In National Star Competition


FCCLA 2016 National Leadership Conference attendees from School District of Manatee County including students Taylor Trevithick (Florida State FCCLA President Elect) and Sylee Miller (Florida State VP of Public Relations). Pictured far left is LRHS advisor Elaine Bowling and far right is BRMS advisor Jill Bergeron.
Manatee County students were among more than 8,000 Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) members, advisers, alumni, and guests who gathered for the 2016 National Leadership Conference, July 3-7, in San Diego. Attendees included six Braden River Middle School students , 10 Lakewood Ranch High School students, and one Sugg Middle School student, along with advisors Jill Bergeron, Elaine Bowling, and Farrol Thomas. The meeting provided Manatee County members with the opportunity to attend leadership and program training, hear national speakers, meet the National Executive Council, explore colleges and careers, and impact a city with FCCLA power.

FCCLA’s STAR (Stu- dents Taking Action with Recognition) events are based on the belief that every student is a winner. Competition, evaluation, and recognition all stress cooperation as the basis of success. Both youth and adults work together to manage the events and serve as evaluators of the 4,500 STAR event participants. Throughout the year, FCCLA members tackle issues such as teen violence prevention, traffic safety, family issues, career exploration, and much more. FCCLA programs and competitions enrich student learning, Improve self-esteem, and serve students with a range of ability levels, economic situations, and cultural influences. These events, which include Early Childhood Education, Job Inter- view, and Sports Nutrition, among others, represent college and career readiness skills taught in Family and Consumer Sciences classroom.

Gold Medal winners from the School District of Manatee County include Gyvalia Henry and Yaillen Piceno (BRMS) for Chapter in Review Display; Reina Langley and Carolyn Rozensky (BRMS) for Chapter Service Project Display; Taylor Trevithick (LRHS) and Jessica Zelitt (LRHS) for Food Innovations. Silver Medal recipients include Sabrie McNab and Ansley Shilling (BRMS) for Chapter in Review Portfolio; Madeline Hartman (LRHS) for Chapter Service Project Portfolio; Isabelle Starner and Alyson Hepler (LRHS) for Chapter in Review Dis- play; and Keiontai Henry for Advocacy. Students who brought home bronze medals were Sidney Oake and Delaney Casterline (LRHS) for Chapter in Review Portfolio; Skylee Miller and Brinttnee Johnson (LRHS) for Interper- sonal Communications.